Back in Sixth Grade

Bartholomew Barker, Poet

Welcome Mr. BarkerThis morning I went back to sixth grade. Mills Park Middle School in Cary, North Carolina, invited me and two of my favorite poets to talk to their sixth grade classes about poetry. I will admit to being intimidated by the concept of talking to sixth graders. After all, the last time I talked to someone that age, I was that age. None the less I had a good time and am glad I did it.

I started each class by asserting that I don’t like poetry. Then I talked about art in general and how most art does not move me but those few pieces which do, really do. Then we talked about the five senses and how various forms of art are perceived by the senses. That brought me to poetry and which senses it impacts.

The kids and I also struggled with the question, is a flower…

View original post 154 more words

Leave a Reply

